What are 1/1 creature tokens

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
i just wanted to ask a questing to all the magic players out there. I'm new to the game and cant seem to figure out what 1/1 creature tokens are. I am playing the morningtide decks right now and have several cards that use these tokens. any help would be appreciated

feel free to e-mail me at [email]Grateslapper@yahoo.com[/email]
Tokens are a way to create a creature without there actually being a card associated with it. For the most part, token creatures are exactly like normal creatures. The most notable differences are that if a token leaves play, it ceases to exist, and tokens are not actual cards (they can be represented with whatever you like).

Token creatures have whatever characteristics are defined for them by the ability that created it. For example, if you have an effect creates a 1/1 black faerie rogue with flying, the token has the name "Faerie Rogue", the creature types "Faerie" and "Rogue, and is a 1/1 black creature with flying (it has no mana cost).
To more-or-less copy from another post on this topic.

DCI Touney Rules:

37. Game Markers
Game markers, such as tokens or reminders of a game effect, may not be designated by cards with identical backs as the cards in a player’s deck if the deck is unsleeved. If the deck is sleeved, game markers may not have sleeve backs identical to those on the cards in the player’s deck.
Small items (i.e. Glass beads, dice, etc...) may be used as markers and placed atop your library (for example, as a reminder for upkeep effects). Cards may not be used. These markers may not disguise the number of cards remaining in a player’s deck or completely obscure the top card of the deck.
A judge may disallow the use of game markers that may cause confusion with regard to the state of the game, or that are deemed inappropriate or offensive.