Dual Wield Ranger Trope getting old

Hi, I'm new to the DDN playtesting and am generally liking what I see.  One thing is bugging me and that is the persistent railroading of close combat Rangers into the Dual Wield model.  

Of particular note is that we at first glance seem to be able to get back to the old days of a great weapon Ranger, axe/sword & shield Ranger, or Spear etc.  Then, when we think we'll be good to go chopping orcs with our Great Axe, we get Slayer's Hands shoved on us. 

I know Drizzt is a big hit. I'm a fan too. But I really can't stand the idea of being forced to use two weapons or lose a level benefit because I didn't fit the trope.  I can swallow the whole Ranger magic thing from 1st ed, but this pidgeon holed two weapon thing needs to go.

Nerd rant over.  Thanks for playin'   

Agreed.
100% agree!
Slayer's Hands isn't one of the ranger's base class abilities, it's in the Horde Breaker subclass. Would you consider the issue fixed if there was a subclass that focused on expertise in a single melee weapon? To me it seems like most classes could do with a third subclass, and many players appreciate the option of a strong dual-wield ranger build.
As is, the current ranger gets a wide range of proficiencies and the use of shields. I suspect that future favored enemy paths will focus on different fighting styles. I'd personally prefer them to downplay the fighting style with most ranger paths.
@Boudiceaborn - Actually, I'd like to just see a more open option that didn't pidgeonhole people into dual fighting.  They could create a second or third option just within Slayer's Hands that would solve the whole problem. Smile

It's like the 4E powers that would let you have a different effect based on what type of weapon you were using.  That was a great idea.