Skin Your Forums

109 posts / 0 new
Last post

Introducing the ability to skin your Wizards Community Forums experience. 

So, like many of you, I was not pleased when I saw the new forums. As a web developer, I was particularly turned off by the extremely excessive amount of unused space and how much padding everything had, thus requiring a lot more scrolling. However, rather than just stating my complaints as many of you have rightly done, I decided to do something about it. Behold the power of CSS.

For those unfamiliar with the term, CSS is a scripting language used for defining layout and styling of elements on web pages. Almost all modern websites use it, including these forums. Fortunately, CSS makes it very easy to override styles, so with the help of the community, let's provide everyone the ability to tweak the appearance of the forums to their liking, even after Wizards hopefully improves the default appearance (perhaps even utilizing CSS created by us ;)).

Below you'll find a list of skins created by the community and setup instructions for how to apply that skin to your forum experience. Each skin is just a block of CSS script (no JavaScript or plug-ins required), so it's completely safe to use.

I've kicked things off with a skin I wrote which simply increases font size for certain text, removes excess padding, increases widths of posts and other blocks of content to use up excess whitespace, and adds a border and background color around quotes. Please note that it will cause wrapping issues if your window is less than 1170 pixels wide (I'll look into creating alternative skins for narrower windows later).

NOTE: If the links below don't work or you can't access the CSS text for some reason, please let me know. Meanwhile, the raw text can be found here (though it may not be up to date).

Starter Layout Skin (danmage72) - Last updated 9/24/13 (Details)