First Living Game

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
So in 24 years I have never played a single session of a living game of any kind and have never been a part of any RPGA event. Now we have Living Forgotten Realms which my regular gaming group and I have decided to participate in regularly, but I am a little in the dark here.

First problem is that I have hated Forgotten Realms for the majority of my gaming career and have stayed away from it in everything except computer games. I am in the North Eastern US (Corymyr) but I have no idea what to expect in that region.

And the second is the more obvious. I have never done this before.

I was looking to the more experienced of the RPGA to see if there is anything that I should really know when it comes to these games? Reading rules is fine, but hearing about how it works from experienced players is better overall.
I am in the North Eastern US (Corymyr) but I have no idea what to expect in that region.

Well, unlike Living Greyhawk, where what region you lived in had an impact on which modules you could play (or, at least, which you could play without traveling), the regions in LFR don't look to have as much of an impact. Just because you "live" in Cormyr, you'll still be able to play pretty much all of the regional adventures.

Regardless, as the campaign is new, and as the FR game world has just "fast-forwarded" by a hundred or so years, there's not a whole lot we can tell you about Cormyr quite yet, beyond what you might know from your earlier exposure to the Realms.

I was looking to the more experienced of the RPGA to see if there is anything that I should really know when it comes to these games? Reading rules is fine, but hearing about how it works from experienced players is better overall.