Alternate warlock pacts

85 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have a new group under my DMing wing, and two of the players wanted to be warlocks. however, they don't want to have any of the pacts in the PHB. One found the Necris pact, and is happy with it. Still, the other warlock player wants another new pact be made. However, while I am a brilliant DM, I'm not good at making a new class, or even any more than a few new powers for a class. So, I would be grateful if someone could make a new pact. Still, I did have a few ideas, as the quote talks about making pacts with great entities. Here are some suggested pacts:

1. Angel pact, made with angels

2. Dragon pact, made with Ancient Dragons (got the idea from the dragon pacts in the 3.5e Dragon Magic)

3. Mind pact, made with mind flayers or Incredibly powerful psions

4. Ectoplasmic pact, made with mysterious entities made of ectoplasm
I'm curious: are the unhappy with the fluff of the existing pacts, or are they unhappy with the mechanics? If it's the former, they could very well just reflavour the given pacts to suit the fluff they want. So, Star Pact become "Heavenly Pact", but all the powers remain the same (perhaps changing some of the energy types to radiant). Or Fey Pact becomes "Psi Pact", or Infernal Pact becomes "Draconic Pact". This might satisfy your players needs. However, if it's the mechanics they don't quite like, then you'll have some more work on your hands, creating some pact powers, as well as deciding what an appropriate pact boon would be.