How do video games influence your campaigns?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all,

First and foremost, I must say I am very excited about fourth edition and I cannot wait to get my hands on the books. My group and I have been dreaming about it since it was first announced and now that it is almost upon us the time for me to start writing adventures and thinking of campaigns. I just wanted to ask all of you: how much do video games influence your adventure writing?

I started playing D&D after years of playing the Final Fantasy series (which is no big surprise). I quickly came to love pen and paper RPGs but computer games still had my love as well. As a DM now, I like to borrow a lot from those games and I try to form Final Fantasy-esque storyline and themes. For the most part it has been a success with my players. Sometimes I go back and play games like FFIX to refresh my memory and get some adventure ideas. I have almost every OST from the series on my iTunes and it's not uncommon for me to listen to the music and see where it takes me in making adventures.

Anyway, do computer games influence your D&D creative process?
The reason I know how to design dungeons, tactical encounters, and know which details do what to enliven made-up worlds as well as I do is because of video games.

There are tricks: gameplay systems (say, platforming or spaceship shooter) can be hard to emulate in D&D; depends. What I prefer carrying over are encounter ideas (vertical shaft flooding with lava while a dragon rains fire on you from above) or world-building techniques (tying disparate items/places together with visual motifs like emblems or different alphabets).
2 words: ginormous bosses
Resident Piggles Zombie piggy is eatin' your sigs om nom nom (>*o*)>
MTG Card