What went wrong with Hecatomb? (Severely long post)

Hey fellow (retired) endbringers,

I doubt anyone will read this. But I’ve developed a casual interested in Magic design and game design, so I thought I would try my hand at understanding and remaking Hecatomb. I’m not a professional and most of my ideas were probably already considered and rejected by the Hecatomb development team. I’ve never played Blanket of Lies either. But whatever; I’m a high school junior with some free time. Let’s start:

Hecatomb had one of the best concepts I’ve ever seen for a TCG: an ‘adult’ card game based around the macabre and the concept of pentagonal abominations. It offered quite a few unique ideas and was poised to become something big, but instead died off. Why? I’m hardly an expert at the game, but I think there were several reasons. Here’s a few:

1) Hecatomb tried too much to be like Magic. Other than the abomination mechanic, nearly every aspect of Hecatomb can be traced back directly to something found in Magic. Many people called it Magic-lite, and with good reason: it played like Magic but slower and clunkier because the stack didn’t exist. Stuff like tapping, reaping, and reaching 20 souls are all obviously reminiscent of core Magic mechanics.

2) The game was too slow. It was too difficult to get more than a couple successful attacks in each game. Often whoever managed to get a 4-size hit in and play Loki simply won the game without anything much happening. Obviously this was exacerbated by the ‘soul clock’ mechanic in which each player got an additional soul each turn.