Purifying Fire author Q&A

402 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi, everyone. Laura Resnick here, author of THE PURIFYING FIRE.

I saw a post somewhere on the "Flavor & Storylines" BB saying it would be nice if some of the book authors or game creators would participate. I assume that the creators don't participate much because they work incredibly long hours and probably want a little TIME OF THEIR OWN when they get off work. As a writer, I didn't participate (until today) because I know very little about MAGIC or Wizards of the Coast beyond my tiny participation in same, as the author of one sole book, whereas the fans I see posting here seem very knowledgeable.

But I thought I'd pop in and say hello. Subsequent posts will attempt to answer a few questions I've sene in my lurking. (Yes, we lurk. Sorry about that.)

LauraR
http://www.LauraResnick.com
Publication format:

In answer to questions I've seen here about format: THE PURIFYING FIRE has been published in trade paperback format, which is the large-sized paperback (similar to non-fiction, literary fiction, and--here's a twist--erotica novels). Cover price $14.95, but I've seen it steeply discounted for Barnes & Noble members (under $9, I believe).

AGENTS OF ARTIFICE by my friend Ari Marmell was released in hardcover, and will be reissued in paperback later on, though I don't know if they're planning that as a trade paperback or as a mass market paperback (the smaller size, typical of most commercial fiction releases).

Why any publisher chooses various formats has a lot to do with distribution, the collapse of mmpb distribution, the consolidation of distributors, the increases in paper and shipping costs, decreases in orders, the squeezing-out of the traditional jobber markets for commercial fiction, and other things that aren't really that interesting unless your full-time income depends on it.