Cryptic command in Extended?

71 posts / 0 new
Last post
I dont want to sound stupid, and I am new to extended, is Cryptic Command good to use in extended? I wasnt sure because od Runed Snag, Mana leak, etc.

Thanks in advance!:D
I am in CONTROL! WHITE Power!!! I am Blue/White
I am Blue/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.
I'm both orderly and rational. I value control, information, and order. I love structure and hierarchy, and will actively use whatever power or knowledge I have to maintain it. At best, I am lawful and insightful; at worst, I am bureaucratic and tyrannical.
Its generally a good swiss army knife. 4 ofs maybe not. But 2 or 3 is commonly seen in faerie lists.
Its generally a good swiss army knife. 4 ofs maybe not. But 2 or 3 is commonly seen in faerie lists.

Yeah, 2-3 Cryptic Command is good in Control decks already playing a set of Spell Snare and Mana Leak.
I always find it slow and bulky. Having to leave four mana open is annoying when, with other counters, I can simply leave open two. It's not bad but I'd never run more than two, if any.
I run a full set in any control deck with a mana base to support 3blue. Its an amazing spell, it creates critical card advantages and can tap your opponents critters for the win. Oh and its a blue fog. Oh and it can bounce anything.
I'm a bit torn on cryptic command. On the one hand it's a very nice card to generate CA, but on the other hand if you try to cryptic there's a good chance you're tapping out to do it. Against aggro decks I'd probably want to run a full set of them, but against other control decks I'd probably only want 2, maybe 3, but definitely not 4 in my deck since it just leaves you too open to shenanigans by other control decks.