First time playtesting w/ brand new players

So I am running a playtest this evening, have been prepping for the last day. This is my first time DMing ever, and I will be playing with 4 players, only one of which has played before. I will be running Caves of Chaos, supplemented slightly by fluff from B2 (i.e. keep and wilderness map, may run a couple of the wilderness encounters). I have also supplemented with info from Sly Flourish on npc's and motives, I also randomized some npcs from donjon online randomization tools, just in case i need to have some interactions in the keep. I have definitely simplified so that the keep just has the basics, as they are all new players (pretty much) I don't forsee having to have too much fluff for rp purposes.

I am familiar with 3/3.5 as well as WFRP, so I feel like this playtest rule set is very simple compared. Fingers crossed for a fun session! We wil be rolling new characters tonight, and I'm thinking doing a quick combat or two before we start in with the story, just to kind of give everyone a feel for the rules and how a combat might go. As far as the story goes I have only really prepared some possible wilderness encounters, as well as some index cards with stat blocks for the goblin and kobold caves (which is where I plan to steer them so the first session isn't a TPK). I am mostly concerned with just throwing the party into situations that could snowball out of controll, I mostly want this to be an intro with a few combats and some fun NPC and PC interactions.

That said does anyone have any advice on bringing new players up to speed, any tips for running with first timers in this setting, any comments or general advice?
Thank you in advance! 
Sounds you're in for a fun time! Make sure you don't swarm them with too many critters, the kobold & goblin caves have rooms that has lot of them.