Why DDI will not happen...

159 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello, I am just going to vent/present some personal opinion here. Take it with a grain of salt; feel free to criticize or flame.

First, my credentials. I am a professional programmer with some experience in web development. I have worked with PHP, java server pages, Apache, MySQL, the usual suspects.

But you don't have to be a developer to see the writing on the wall. Has ANY software product from this company EVER been released on time or lived up to its marketing promises?

It is my opinion that DDI will never happen. If it were going to happen we would see something by now. Time is money, so at this point the project is taking too many resources. Features are probably being cut like mad as we speak in a desperate scramble to get something out the door.

The effective way to develop a new technology is iteratively. Especially with web technologies where you can count on frequently updating your customers code, "tape out" is not a big deal. So, there is no reason not to start getting things out there to get feedback.

Feedback is absolutely critical to focusing development effort. With a radical new application like this, nobody can predict what features are going to be useful. It would be very easy to miss the ball and spend a lot of development efforts working on things your customers don't want.

For example, how important/useful is multimedia integration? What level of support for house rules is worthwhile? What kind of interface is best to let people connect for games?

It is *very* hard to predict in advance what your customers will want from your code. The only way to really tell for sure is to just throw it out there and see what people want.
Nah, it'll happen. These things can be delayed and still come out.

I mean.. look at Dai Katana!
I hope for Wizards sake you are wrong...

They're going to have to shell out quite a bit of cash to buy back the 4e books if they don't get it out soon.