Make Your Own Town/City from Dungeoncraft 1

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to D&D but an old hat at telling stories (been playing muds since 2002 and went on to become a staff member on one). Although despite that I found the guide in Dungeoncraft 1 helpful in creating the starting town of a Campaign I'm thinking up (which of course won't be played for a few years yet ;)). Following the steps, I went from a stereotypical big city that had absolutely no information (and worse yet, no way for halflings to start there!) and no neighbors to a vibrant and unique city.

I thought I'd post it here to compare cities that other people have made based on the guide. Here it is:

[u]Ashoren[/u]

History

Ashoren was once a small town on the edge of the Nerath kingdom, although it was built on the ruins of a long buried city of Bael Turath. It was well known for its horses, however little else about it was noteworthy. When the Nerath kingdom was destroyed, Ashoren was little affected. However as refugees fled the cities, many of them came to Ashoren including tiefling. This resulted in Ashoren growing considerably larger which caused Ashoren to spread further into the forest that borders it to the west, east and south. This, along with the increased raiders resulted in the elven tribes that lived in the forests to become harder and angrier to intruders. However not all survived with the remnants of a variety of tribes instead choosing to live in Ashoren.

The eladrin have a long history of trading with Ashoren who are well praised for their horses with their interest only increasing with the size of Ashoren. Originating in the city-state Magor, located across the northern plains in Feywild, some of the eladrin have migrated to Ashoren on orders of their nobles so that they gain more access to Ashoren's horses, and in turn trade their own goods to the merchants and people of Ashoren.