Custom textures for tiles and v-minis? A suggestion.

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
From what I've seen, Game Table looks great. However, as a computer artist, I am wondering about its flexibility for modification.

If it's possible, the first thing I'd want to do is change all of the tiles to make them look like a black-and-white 1e module map. I would use symbols (stairs, pits, secret doors, etc.) identical to the map seen on p. 95 of the 1e Dungeon Master's Guide. I would also want to change the textures of all the v-minis to unpainted lead gray. I would call it the "Classic D&D Texture Set" for Game Table.

Why would I want to do this? I'm sure that younger gamers who love modern online computer games would be befuddled by my desire to make Game Table look "worse." There are several reason why I would want to do this.

I loved playing D&D on 1-inch graph paper or a vinyl mat where I drew the map in the "classic" D&D map style that was established with first edition. With only symbolic representations of the environment, most of the details of a given encounter area were left to the imaginations of the DM and players.

Also, I and many of my friends were never very interested in painting lead miniatures so we usually left them gray. Unpainted miniatures also left some of the characters' details to the imaginations of the players. It was usually impossible to find miniatures that looked just like a particular PC. Sure, it's nice that we'll be able to design our own PC v-minis. But, as is the case with all computer games, it will still be impossible to make v-minis look exactly like a particular PC. If a player can design a v-mini that looks close to his or her imagined look for a PC, leaving it gray would visually blur the finer details of the figure and leave the rest to imagination.