Wanting to Get Started!

12 posts / 0 new
Last post

Hey everyone!  So I'm new to the D&D Universe.  I've only played NWN2 really which I know is based on D&D rules.  That's about it though.  I'm interested in getting started with the game and read the new player guide but am still so lost as to what I'd actually need to play.  I know the DM manual, player manual, and dungeon tiles but is there anything else I'd need?  I saw that Wizards has full 1-30 campaigns available.  Would that be something I'd need?  Also, what about character figures?  Like minis?  Would I need those?  And paint and such?  

Can anyone help me out?  Thanks!

You don't need much more than the players handbook to make a character and start playing, if you have a group to join or there's an encounters event in your area you can attend.  If you w Bush to start your own group and DM you'll need more. 

You won't need to paint minis unless you want to, any game you join will likely have them.  There are prepainted plastic minis and cardboard tokens as alternatives.

If you want to DM, you can get the boxed DM Kit, which includes tokens and a premade adventure.

Want to see the best of 4e included in 5e?  Join the Old Guard of 4e.

5e really needs something like Wrecan's SARN-FU to support "Theatre of the Mind."

"You want The Tooth?  You can't handle The Tooth!"  - Dahlver-Nar.

"If magic is unrestrained in the campaign, D&D quickly degenerates into a weird wizard show where players get bored quickly"  - E. Gary Gygax

Oops, looks like this request tried to create an infinite loop. We do not allow such things here. We are a professional website!

Awesome!  Would the Red Box be helpful too?  

Im also confused about the types of events that D&D has. Is there really only Encounters?  Do players hold games every day or is it only on specific days as designated by the store?  Could anyone explain how the events work and such?

And is there a forum on here for local players to get together and play?