Still failed to love 4E after one year of gaming

797 posts / 0 new
Last post
I started playing D&D with 3.0 and soon switched to 3.5. Last year I jumped into 4E right after the books were published. It's been roughly a year now, so I feel it's a good point to sum up the good and bad of 4E (regardless of the title).

4E has made gaming simpler. This is basically the only thing I think 4E is good for. It greatly reduces the DM's burden. But I also noticed that with higher level characters, you still have to spend a lot of time choosing magic items. The time may be less than building characters in 3.5, but it's still a lot of time.

However, 4E is less fun (for me), partly because it is simpler. As a player, I spent weeks to build a 3R character, picking class features, spells, powers, maneuvers and variant classes which makes every character I made memorable. I had great fun in 3.5 gaming, yet I had equal fun in building my character. In 4E, the character spends me only an hour to build, and picking magic items may take a day or so. However, all that I remember are the magic items, not my character.

Also, 4E is too balanced. Balanced is not bad, but too balanced is. 4E tries to specify *everything* with rules so that the rules will not be broken. However, characters in 4E has lost diversity as a result. Say, what can the fighter do? Pull, push, slide. What can the wizard do? Pull, push, slide. And what can the rogue do? Pull, push, and slide. There're certainly a little more for each class to make them seem different, but to me, there isn't really much new in each new class.