People who say that fixing wizards and clerics was necessary

830 posts / 0 new
Last post
have become slaves to the collective opinion of them being broken, formulated and machinated by those who went to great lengths to intentionally imbalance and break the game with their min-max builds.
I have a lot of experience playing 3.5, and every time I played a wizard or cleric I was envious of the power and damage dealing potential of the fighter and other fighting classes.
It's strange that people who are raving about the combat potential of the cleric always talk about his combat potential when he has 5 spells in effect on himself. In the games I played, I was happy if I had the time to cast 1 buff on myself before I had to concentrate in actual combat, healing and dealing damage.
And people who are raving about the wizard, claim that it makes the fighter useless in level 5 because of some mediocre damage area spell. Well, in your games, did the enemies sit in some kind of herd, waving their hands and shouting: "hey you! throw a fireball at us, we are all packed together!"?
Save or die spells are gained only at higher levels, are ineffective against numerous mediocre enemies, and can be protected from by more powerful opponents.
Once a wizard runs out of his good spells, he is useless. A fighter is never useless, he just keeps on going.
Nothing can beat the cold steel and the brave heart of the fighter.