4th edition less magical?

922 posts / 0 new
Last post
Having quietly lurked on these forums for a couple of years, I finally decided to actually say something myself after purchasing the 4e core books.

I started playing D&D 3.5 about 4 years ago, and when 4e was published, I figured the message boards would be transformed into a pro-/anti 4e flame war, and therefore decided to avoid the forums for the time being, read the new core books and form my own opinion about the new edition. So about a week ago I bought the core books.

I must say that there are a couple of things I really like about the new edition. Giving powers to every class is really brilliant. The fighter can finally do more things than simply ”attacking with his longsword”, and with his at-will and encounter spells, the wizard will always have something to do. (after all, you play a wizard because you want to do magic).

There is however, a huge problem with the new magic system that has not (as far as I have seen) been adressed in-depth on the message boards. A problem that, in my opinion, renders the wizard class and, to some extent, the entire game, unplayable. It is not the system that is the problem (as I said, the at-will/encounter/daily spells are brilliant), but rather the spells themselves.

First of all, there are far too few spells to choose from, and they are all very similar to one another. One spell deals 3d8 points of damage and knocks the target prone, while another does the same but makes the target immobilized instead of prone, and a third damages and knocks prone characters in a small area of effect a bit away. Practically all spells seem to be useful only in combat situations (deal damage, bonus to attacks, penalty to AC and so on). Even several among the utility spells seem to be designed for use only in combat.