What should I play???

50 posts / 0 new
Last post
hey guys,

I am new to 4e, but a long time gamer (mostly 2e), and my friends are going to try 4e out...here is the group.

DM: Has been playing 4e alot in another group and DMed my fav 2e game of all time...he owns everything including na Insider sub

We are going to run Keep on the Shadowfell with some hombrew alterations to it (Since he is droping it into his own world).

Player 1: Me :D I played 4e on game day last year, and felt it was lacking something...it just didn't feel like D&D to me

Player 2: he has been running LFR, and plays with the DM in another 4e game, so he is our Vet...
[INDENT]he wants to play an Evoker...witch i though was a wizard but was told it is a cleric now...[/INDENT]

Player 3: Is the Dm's new girlfriend and has only played Minds Eye Theater Vampire...
[INDENT]She has a character drawn up already a Gnome Rogue[/INDENT]

Plyaer 4: Is an old time gamer (since he played chain mail in the 70's) but has only had 1 or two shots at 3e and has never played 4 e before
[INDENT]He wants to try out this new Warlord class and he is thinking Dwarf or human[/INDENT]

Player 5: He was in our most recent 3.5 game, and has played a handful of LFR under player 2
[INDENT]he wants to play a half elf Warlock he saud he wants to go fey pact[/INDENT]

So here I am wondering what to play, the PHB says to identify roles, and it looks to me like we have no controler or defender: we have the Evoker and Warlord as Leaders, We have the theif and warlock as strikers, but no defender or controler.

So I was thinking of trying to do a Fighter/Mage, but the DM suggested I look at his Forgotten realms book. He said LFR has a new class called swordmage I might like. He also suggested Bard, but I have never liked bards really. He told me that I could use eaithe r to make a bladsinger type character, but I don't know.

I own the PHB and that is it, but we have access to everything. Any ideas?