Tactical Trick and Sneak Attack

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
So during our last D&D 4e Essentials session this came up. I am rather new to D&D still and don't have a brilliant grasp of the more advanced rules this so I apologise if it is plain as day.

I used tactical trick to get to an enemy that had an ally adjacent to them. I was standing beside my ally and so they were not directly opposite me. So under normal circumstances I would not get combat advantage as I was not flnaking my enemy.

But tactical trick says that I have combat advantage against an enemy that has an ally adjacent to them. Does this mean I also get my sneak attack additional dice for damage? The DM brought it up and wasn't sure if I would or not. It also seemed to him that my rogue was doing to much damage per hit and he doesnt want to make the game to easy for us.

He mentioned about effects not stacking but as they are not the same type or effect I didn't think this would matter. And that my tactical trick gave me the combat advantage but I could not benfit from sneak attack due to not flanking the enemy. So as I get the +2 form combat advantage on my to hit roll I cannot then get the second benefit of 2d6 dice from sneak attack as I was bypassing how I would natral get combat advantage. But if I were to flank the enemy I would gain it naturally and so could get the extra 2d6 damage dice as I was nto using a power to gain the combat advantage.

The sneak attack wording also says an enemy granting you combat advanatge" but the Tactical trick power says "you have combata advanatge". Because of this we were not sure if as it is the power giving me the combat advantage if due to the wording of Sneak attack I would get the extra damage dice.