My DM buffs monster health to compensate for any additional damage my striker does, time to reroll?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have to confess, I have gotten pretty good at making characters. Much better than the rest of my party. I recently started playing with a group of people I just met, and when I ask them what I should build they told me they really needed a striker.

I was hesitant, because making a really good striker is much more obvious than making a defender or leader who does their job really well. They were adamant though, so I eventually settled on a Tiefling Sorcerer (Elementalist) because I have played way too many melee characters and wanted to try them out. I gave the DM a couple options though with expected average damage and I was told anything I chose would be fine.

It was not fine, for two reasons. I do significantly (and worse- obviously) more damage than the other two people who ended up making strikers. I stopped taking feats upping my damage in favor of RP feats, so this is slowing not becoming an issue. Especially as I have been giving gentle advice to the other two strikers. Worse though is that the DM just buffs the monsters health to compensate for whatever amount of damage we end up outputting as a party.

Yes, this is terrible. It means that any resources I put towards increasing damage are completely wasted AND that the survival strategy of killing monsters faster is completely negated.

I'm at this point where I think I need to sit down with my DM and ask her to either stop buffing her monsters health or let me make a new character. Elementalists have almost zero utility, so I can't do much else to boost party survivability except do more damage. It's fine if the DM doesn't want her monsters to die quickly, but if thats the case I want to be able to contribute to party survivability in other more meaningful ways.