Grixis Control

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Good afternoon everyone! I'm currently in the process of creating my first standard deck.

Just so we're on the same page, I want it to be semi-competitive; however, semi-budget.

This is what I have so far:

I built this deck just using spare cards I had in my small collection. I just wanted to throw together something decent that I could use for standard play.
Quick question, does Young Pyromancer work with Grixis?
What I have right now isn't very good. It works, but it's not refined.
Is there a different semi-competitive budget standard deck where I can just buy the cards I need online? Or should I just alter this?
I am not a standard expert so I can not say how competitive grixis is currently but I don't see why semi-competitive would not be achievable. Since you built this deck from spare cards most of the cards have stronger versions or there are just better cards. Young Pyromancer might be workable but no guarantees. Definitely go to 4 jace, architect of thought as this is your main source for generating card advantage. Planeswalkers are great in control decks in modern and standard since your card draw is limited the repeat effects become instrumental. For this reason going to 3 ral zareks would be a good option as well. On that note a third planeswalker would also be a good option but anything else will be getting rolled out of standard soon. You should have 4-6 finishers so I would start by putting in a third aetherling