[3.5] Fear Aura Mechanics?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
So, I play a Dread Necromancer, which has Fear Aura, which reads that as a free action I can activate it and enemies within 5 ft of me must make a will save or become shaken.

Last night my DM ruled that if I advance on a target or initiate the attack, the aura will not affect the target (some nonsense about how since I'm threatening them they can overcome fear). This entirely negates the usefulness of the class feature. He said that it can only affect an enemy that advances on me.

Does anyone know the actual rules for this? It reads any enemy in 5 ft, which to me says "no matter how they got there".

I'm still fairly new to D&D but my understanding is that my power and my presence is terrifying. They should be afraid ESPECIALLY if I'm attacking them.

I'd love an official Wizards response on this, and how the aura should work... But what is everyone else's opinion?
You aren't going to get an "official" response anymore although there may be clarifications you DM may accept as official.

I'm going to say your DM is dense.  I mean you have an FEAR AURA about you.  I know that if you move closer to me and threaten to attack me I am probably going to feel that affect FAR MORE than if I was casually sneaking up on you if you didn't know I was there.  This isn't some effect where you are trying to avoid/penalize an opponent by appearing "non-threatening" to them but rather you are trying to prove you are some kind of threat.

Now I'll say that if I was afraid of you but then you move up to me and do nothing to harm me I may not be so afraid of you anymore but that would be a different game mechanic.

It really sucks that he's being so dense. He's the son of a long-time D&D'er. They basically say my aura can't apply if I approach or corner a target. They're wrong, aren't they?
Yes. They're twisting the DN's Fear Aura with the cleric's Turn Undead ability.