WANT TO PLAY THIS GAME! - Question

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi guys,

I am a complete beginner and am looking to play Magic the Gathering via the Internet. I have a lot of questions though, so I hope you'll have some patience with me :D

I hear that people are playing this game on various online platforms... some play it on Magic The Gathering Online and others play Magic the Gathering - Duels of planewalkers 2014.

What exactly is the difference between these platforms? and which is more popular? with a larger player base? and which has a better competitive scene with tournaments or a ladder system?

Which platform do you guys prefer and why?

--------------

I was wondering if someone could explain MTG - Duels of planewalkers to me a bit :D  With the card game, people buy cards from game stores, but in Dotp how do you actually acquire and collect cards? can you grind the game like an MMO and collect more cards the more you play the game?

And what is this sealed campaign? Is this the place where you can earn more cards? i know that you can earn boosters from playing the sealed campaign, but can you repeat sealed campaign over and over and keep getting boosters this way in order to acquire more cards? and can these cards you acquired from the boosters in sealed campaign be used in all other modes? as in, are they permanently in your collection and can be used for all game modes?

What is the game mode, or preferred Tournament format? (one that allows all cards a player has? structured? or limited?)

------------------

lastly, what's the best way to collect cards without spending a substantial amount in this game? i read on a site that says it's a good idea to save the boosters and exchange/sell them for event tickets? and then sell those for the cards that you want?

What's the best way to acquire a good deck as a beginner? theory craft a style you want to play and trade with other people or buy cards that only conicide with the deck you have theorycrafted?