Newbie DM needs help tailoring encounters for groups of less than 5 players

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone!

As you can see this is my first post so please be patient with me lol!

I'm very new to Dungeon Mastering and have recently compleated the campaign that comes with the red D&D essentials starter game and started Reavers of Harkenwold that comes with the Dungeon Masters set.

The issue I am having is that my group is very small, literaly just my wife who plays a wizard and my brother in law who plays a Dwarf fighter. Because of this I created a cleric NPC to assist them on there adventures however some of the encounters have still been a little tough at times even at level 2. As i have been reading through the Dungeon Masters book i came upon a section that explained that published adventures have encounters assuming a group of five players...suddenly the light bulb comes on as to why some of the encounters have been a little difficult.

Do any of you experienced DM's have any recomendations (other than finding another 2 players) of how i can adapt the encounters to compensate for the fact there are essentialy only 3 players? (including the NPC Cleric)

I dont really want to creat another NPC for the party...the only thoughts i have had is maybe reducing the number of enemy minions or reducing the HP of the stronger adversaries in the encounters.

Any advice you can give is greatly appreciated
Do any of you experienced DM's have any recomendations (other than finding another 2 players) of how i can adapt the encounters to compensate for the fact there are essentialy only 3 players? (including the NPC Cleric)

I dont really want to creat another NPC for the party...the only thoughts i have had is maybe reducing the number of enemy minions or reducing the HP of the stronger adversaries in the encounters.

Any advice you can give is greatly appreciated

Don't create another NPC, and ditch the one you've already made.