Questions on running a 1st level 3.5 campaign

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I'm rather familiar with 3.5's system but its my first time really getting into it. My group has gotten together and we're gonna be running a campaign soon. My only qualm is that I picked up a premade campaign (expidition to undermountain) to kinda guide my hand my first time through. Now the groups about 5 players 2 of them a very compitent, one shows promise, one is a tag along whose not familiar with the rules just yet, and the last ones between "wild card" and bats**t insane type.

I began thumbing through the expidition to undermountain and I see that a lot of the encounters seem to be in the 3-4 EL(CR?) range and I'm not sure if the group can really handle that. They had trouble in the last system several times when I DMed 4e, the "wild card" went unconscious around twice per session.

TL;DR: Is a group of new guys good enough to try out expidition to undermountain?
TL;DR: Is a group of new guys good enough to try out expidition to undermountain?

I don't know, but it never hurts to plan for character death, if it's a possibility. Have them make a few backup characters, and come up with ways and reasons ahead of time for them to join the group and for the group to accept them. It's a huge dungeon, right? There are other people down there, possibly as members of other expeditions. An original character dies, and another shows up having been separated from or as a survivor of a different group.

[N]o difference is less easily overcome than the difference of opinion about semi-abstract questions. - L. Tolstoy

Right. Don't hope they can live. Prepare for the possibility they won't. There are many ways to do this, depending on your group's preferences. Hope is rarely a good strategy.

No amount of tips, tricks, or gimmicks will ever be better than simply talking directly to your fellow players to resolve your issues.