DnD 4e Artificer: How to effectivly use summons (artifices)

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey everyone, my friends and I just started playing DnD a few weeks ago. Our DM has played before, but this is his first time DMing. I decided to go with an Eladrin Artificer for my character, because I really like the whole idea behind being the one who actually knows how all these magic items in the game works. I build little robots all the time in real life, so this class was an obvious choice.

I've really run into one problem though, the rules for summoning in 4e make using my artifices effectively quite difficult. In my mind, I imagine myself fighting along side my faithful robotic companions, stopping evil hand in hand. Unfortunately, the rules make it so 1.) I can attack like normal, or 2.) I can twiddle my thumbs while my Obedient Servant attacks. This is because I have to spend my one standard action for one or the other. What ends up happening, is my friendly servant, Jarvis, just sits on the battlefield soaking up damage. The only time he ever attacks is when an opponent provokes and opportunity attack.

I've been able to think of a few uses for my friends.. ahem... summons though. I can use my move action to move them, and my minor action to tell them to pick stuff up while I am locked in combat. That's pretty cool, and fits with the whole idea of friendly robotic constructs I was going for. The problem is, as a daily power, I'd like them to serve more than as just garbage collectors.

Right now I use a standard action to attack through my servant. What if, I could spend a minor action to tell the servant to attack in a square adjacent to it the following round. And if the enemy moves, I'm out of luck. If my ally then occupies the square, well sorry Scott. My bad. :P