I'm new to DnD and I have a couple of questions about Shadowfell quest and starting out in general.

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey

Me and some friends are interested in having a go at DnD. We're completely new to it but have played a lot of other RPGs. Whilst researching for a good beginiers quest to start with, I've found most people recommend, Keep on the Shadowfell. I downloaded the PDFs for this and the quick start rules. They seem great, nicely laid out and very straight forward. 

At first this seemed great, just read up on the rules and we could get our quest under way. But i have a query regarding the maps, dungeon tiles etc.
Obvisouly they don't come with the PDF and the books make references to characters moveing squares, AoE damage from spells and such. 

My questions are; Are the tiles and maps nessercery for play? As someone who does not own one piece of DnD would it be best for me to purchase the Dungeon tile set? Or does everything i need to play, like the maps and dungeon tiles, come with the Shadowfell set? If you don't use the tiles then how does combat work?

As we're only really looking to dip our toes into DnD we're worried about purchasing more than we really need. Plus we live in the UK and getting hold off DnD products isn't easy, gaming stores are few and far between.

I hope i've made our situation clear. Any advice and tips for getting startedl would be greatly appreciated. 

Many thanks. 
For 4e, yes, you do need maps of some description - either dungeon tiles or some kind of wipe-clean 1-inch grid.  You can get a wipe-clean battlemat from Paizo for about £10.  WotC don't sell them.  Or you can get Wizards dungeon tiles.

You can run it without, but if you're new to the game, I'd heartily recommend playing it as written.
Harrying your Prey, the Easy Way: A Hunter's Handbook - the first of what will hopefully be many CharOp efforts on my part. The Blinker - teleport everywhere. An Eladrin Knight/Eldritch Knight. CB != rules source.