help getting a complete beginner started please :)

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
hi all, so i am brand new to magic, i have only ever played duels of the planeswalkers on my xbox 360, i am hoping to start playing with cards as i would love to but as of yet i have no idea where to start, if you could help me with some questions and give me some advice i would appreciate it.

firstly, i live in liverpool, england and was wondering if there are any local people and places where i can start playing?

secondly, i have no idea what to buy first off, there seem to be loads of different variations of packs to buy, fat packs, booster packs etc, what would you suggest for a complete beginner?, when i play on my xbox i like using the green deck with the big creatures if that helps.

also how often do card decks swap out, for instance if i bought some cards now for magic 13 but they still be usable when magic 14 come out, i hear they are out soon?, do you have to update all your cards every year or so?

would really appreciate any sort of help you could give me.

Thanks.              

To make a long story short, if you play in the standard format, half of the cards rotate out every year. Each summer a core set comes out (e.g. Magic 2013, Magic 2014). Then, in the fall, a new block comes out, that consists of three expansion sets. This block is named after the first expansion set in the block. So, last October, the Return to Ravnica set started the Return to Ravnica block, to which Gatecrash and Dragon's Maze were subsequently added. At the same time, the oldest block in standard rotates out, along with last year's core set. This fall, on September 27, the Theros block will begin when the Theros expansion set is released.

So, currently in standard we have:

Magic 2013 core set
Innistrad block: Innistrad, Dark Ascension, Avacyn Restored
Return to Ravnica block: Return to Ravnica, Gatecrash, Dragon's Maze