New to DnD and DMing - Module suggestions

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello! So, I am completely new to DnD and am planning to DM a game with some friends I know online. Instead of making my own campaign however I thought it would be wiser to get some existing modules/campaigns as I don't feel confident enough in my writing or rule knowledge to make my own. Not yet, anyway.

I have already looked around a bit to find.. that there is a ton of them and from a lot of different sources at that. I was hoping to get some suggestions here on what modules are good and worth getting. I have got D&D Insider and I am willing to dish out some cash for a good module or two so feel free to suggest modules that arn't free to get.

Oh, we will be playing 4e and doing a Play by Post as the timezones vary quite a bit in our group. So I am not to worried about difficult modules to DM as I will have plenty of time to figure things out between posts if need be. 
If you are brand new to the game and to 4E, my suggestion would be to download and print the Chaos Scar adventure path from Dungeon. Since you have a subscription you've already paid for it, and it has some nice adventures and a lot of places to explore.

I mostly purchase the print paper modules for the maps. They are not the best adventures, with a few notable exceptions such as Slaying Stone, and some of the sandbox setting modules, like Hammerfast and Vor Rokoth.