New DM With New Players...Question About Monster HP, Dice Rolls and Shops...

89 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone,
I am new to DnD(well unless we count me playing 1st edition in the early 80's as a teenager).  I am a DM for a 4th Ed campaign for other new players(my wife and two sons). 

Anyways...

Major Question(s) #1
I am wondering if I should reveal the following to players(if these things are for all to see):
-Initiative Order(I have been sharing)
-Skill Checks target #'s(I have not been sharing)
-Monster HP's(and remaining HP's)(I have been sharing)
-Monster Attack Rolls(I have been sharing)

Should more of these things be happening "behind the screen"? 

Major Question #2
When my adventurers visit a shop, should I make magical items available from time to time or should these only be found as treasure?

I have the 4td Ed. DM Guide, MM and PH(1) as well as all Essentials books should you need to point be to a section or page.
Thanks in advance for any assistance,
~Gareson

Major Question(s) #1
I am wondering if I should reveal the following to players(if these things are for all to see):

Yes to all. If the players don't want to know, however, don't share it.

Major Question #2

When my adventurers visit a shop, should I make magical items available from time to time or should these only be found as treasure?

That's up to you and your players' preferences. It doesn't have to be Ye Ole Magick Shoppe either. You can easily make it a matter of tapping a network of thieves or a blessing from the church or a mysterious benefactor or, well, possibilities are endless.

No amount of tips, tricks, or gimmicks will ever be better than simply talking directly to your fellow players to resolve your issues.
DMs: Dungeon Master 101  |  Find Your GM Style  |  Structure First, Story Last  |  No Myth Roleplaying  |  5e Monster Index & Encounter Calculator
Players: Players 101  |  11 Ways to Be a Better Roleplayer  |  You Are Not Your Character  |  Pre-Gen D&D 5e PCs