deva paladin re-build

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hy guys, I'm new to this forum, so please forgive me if this is the wrong area for this. I'm new to 4th edition too, althought I'm an old D&D player (since 1990), so I had a little trouble with this edition...
To make a long story short, my character is a Deva paladin, we started or campaign with a good number of players, each of us in his role. thiefling swordmage, half orc barbarian, human monk, elf cleric, human warlord and a dragonborn wizard.
But. The warlord and the cleric retired soon, but only after we already created our characters, so I started taking feats and powers to make life easier for the party. And Iscrewed up enough.
The actual party is:
1defender, thiefling swordmage
1 controller, dragonborn wizard
2 strikers, human monk and half orc barbarian

NOTE: I dont't want to be a pure leader... just a little more healing and help to other chars!
I'm filling the lack of leader, so below we have my actual build (at level 4, my actual level). Could someone give some suggestion for this atipical build, please? I've read a number of suggestion in the forums, and made my adjustments, but this is a rare occurrence, so... I need to be the healer/leader, but for my personal enjoiment I'd like to be acceptable also in melee somehow.... what do you suggest?

here's my build:

Aelias Deva Paladin

abilities:
str 14
con 14
dex 10
int 8
wis 16
cha 19
(racial cha and wis, 4th level cha and str)

feats
houserule: blessed by dreams
level1: devoted paladin (more healing, more effective)
level2: student of battle (to heal at distance)
level4: novice power (maybe i screwed up with this? I could retrain at level 5)

powers:
lay on hands
Paladin at-will 1: strike of hope
Paladin at-will 1: virtuos strike
encounter1: vengeance is mine (warlord)
daily1: majestic halo
utility2: bless weapon
encounter3: righteous smite
(i think to take name of might at 5th)

others:
inspiring word
divine mettle
divine strength