When to roll a 1d4 for damage.

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi I'm a newb to D&D and for the last couple of days I've been reading throught the red box dm's book and in the section entiteled Attacks it mentions about how when you use a melle basic attack and you hit the damage is 1[W]+Strenght modifier. So I have two questions, 1. Does every character class, like a rogue or wizard use their strenght modifier for a melle basic attack or would they use something like their dexterity? 2. In the players handbook in the red box there is a section which describes attacking an it tells you to write down in the attack bonus section of your character sheet (if your playing rogue) +7 attack bonus, dagger, damage= 1d4+4. Im just wondering when would you use this as most of the rogues powers, including melle basic attack, either replace the dice you roll to something like 1d6 or replace the modifier to something like strength. Do you ever actually roll an attack which deals 1d4+4 damage? Any advice would be helpful.

Everyone uses Strength for their Melee Basic Attacks and Dexterity for their Ranged Basic Attacks. Although each class uses their primary ability for their class powers, MBAs and RBAs are not class powers. They're powers that evryone has regardless of their character class.

Show

I am the Magic Man.

(Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.)

I am the Lawnmower Man.

(I AM GOD HERE!)

I am the Skull God.

(Koo Koo Ka Choo)

There are reasons they call me Mad...

1. Does every character class, like a rogue or wizard use their strenght modifier for a melle basic attack or would they use something like their dexterity?

Out-of-the-box, everybody uses Strength.  Melee Basic Attack is a specific power that you can find in the core rulebooks that everybody can use, but of course only characters with high strength can use it effectively.  There are feats, specifically the Melee Training feats, which allow you to key your melee basic off other stats.