How do different damage types work?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello,

I'm very new to role playing games so my question might seem pretty obvious. I am just running the Beginner red box and am confused by what Psychic damage is and how it effects a charachter. If a PC takes 5 psychic damage, does that mean they lose 5 HP? Is that the same for Fire damage, necrotic damage, etc?
Damage is damage.

5 damage(longsword which is untyped) = 5 psychic = 5 acid = 5 fire.

The difference is the damage type.  Where damage type matters is feats and resists/vulnerabilities.  There are feats that say if you are rolling dice to figure out how much lightning damage you do, you add +1 to the total.  There are monsters that are vulnerable 5 fire so if you do 5 fire damage, they actually take 10 fire damage.  And then there are monsters that have resist 5 fire so that the 5 fire damage you do means they take nothing because they resist all of it.
Hello,

I'm very new to role playing games so my question might seem pretty obvious. I am just running the Beginner red box and am confused by what Psychic damage is and how it effects a charachter. If a PC takes 5 psychic damage, does that mean they lose 5 HP? Is that the same for Fire damage, necrotic damage, etc?

The damage type only matters if you have some kind of special resistance, vulnerability or immunity to that damage type, or some other game element that interacts with it.  So if you don't, you just lose 5 HP.  If you do, you might take more or less damage each time damage of that type is dealt to you.

As far as I know, all the different damage types are Acid, Cold, Fire, Force, Lightning, Necrotic, Poison, Psychic, Radiant and Thunder.  Everything that doesn't have a damage keyword is considered untyped (but untyped is not a damage type).