New DM looking for help on a poem

6 posts / 0 new
Last post

Hey guys!

I'm brand new to DM'ing and i'm prepping my very first campaign.

At this moment I'm working on a mini-dungeon where my adventurers can find a few magical items and a quest item for a sidequest they might take.

Setting:
The party enters a tomb via a corridor leading into a big room. In the center of the room stands a statue of a dwarf (Darku, former head of the cityguards). Against the walls stand 3 smaller statues of dwarven warriors.
The ceiling of the room consists of a few colored lenses which send the incoming light to the statues' eyes. The eyes are prisms which defract the light into different colors. The players can move these lenses which enables the mto change the eyecolor of the statue.

I'm only working with the main colors blue, red and green (the lenses are yellow, cyan and purple. Don't botter, it's a physics thingy :D)

This is the point where I'm stuck. I'd like to give some clues in the form of a poem:

Eg. When the eyes are green: nothing happens / when the eyes are red, the 3 smaller statues come to live and an encounter starts / when the eyes are blue, the big statue moves revealing a stairway to an other part of the dungeon.

I'm looking for someone who can help me write a poem containing these clues (You can choose how to use the colors).
I had something written down, but I believe it to be too straightforward and barely challenging:

When eyes glow green, there's nothing to be seen (eg: all the torches are magicly blown out)
When eyes glow blue as water, be ware for slaughter (eg: the small statues come to live leading into an encounter)
When eyes glow red as wine, consider yours what once was mine (eg: secret door opens to a next part of the dungeon)

Any input will be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

- Khrovax