Extremely New Player Advice

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
(Posted this in DDI sub-forum... Not sure which was correct for my situation. Mods please delete if a problem)

Hi all...

I am extremely new to Dungeons & Dragons. I stumbled upon a few campaigns on YouTube. I watched a few of them over the past few days. I was hooked and really want to get into the game. So I figured I'd sign up for a DDI subscription to help better understand the game. Problem is that now I feel that I'm way in over my head haha.

I was planning on picking up a Red Box from my local game shop tomorrow (since that seems to be the starter kit), but thought about using the character builder and other resources online to get my feet wet. 

As of right now I don't know anyone else that plays. I'm really hoping the local comic/game shop has an evening or two where they get together. Hopefully they do, and I could connect and learn that way. 

So I guess my question is that if anyone has any starting point, or advice for how to get my feet wet into things, I'd really appreciate it.
I would start by ignoring the red box. Instead, most comic stores or hobby shops have meeting evenings and boards where players and dm's can post contact information; phone numbers, emails, etc.

Some groups might play at the game store, while some DM's leave their info at the store and host at their home.

If you find a DM, talk to them about the kind of game they run, and maybe try a pre-made level 1 character.

I am a DM, and I don't require players to own any core books; nor do they get to use something "just because they own a book with it".