Different Version Problems

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
So this hasn't become an immediate problem yet but I can sense that it might become an issue soon or in the near future. My very close friends and I started playing D&D about two years ago. Two of them had played before with someone else and his father, both of whom are now also good friends, but they had played very few times, so they were still new to the game. Anyway we got into it and bought the supplies, such as the 4th edition players handbook 1 and monster manual 1, and for about two months we played with simplified 4th edition rules, races, and classes. The other kid, the one who played with my two friends and his father and lets call him Mike, joined us and exposed us to the original D&D. I was not impressed and enjoyed 4th edition. My friends on the otherhand were more intrigued but stayed with 4th edition. Mike just decided to DM for those two months since he was more knowledgeable with the game. It was going fine and I then moved away. It has been a year and a half I havent played since I moved back about a week ago. They on the other hand, have played with the Mike and his father and have switched to strict 1st edition rules. I didn't know this and went out and bought the second players handbook. My old character is still packed away from moving so I created a Goliath Invoker cause I was really liked the race and class. When I showed them my character, class, and powers they sayed that it was stupid and I was OP. I understand that 1st edition characters and monsters have way less health and power range but I was still a little hurt and upset. But yet one of them still uses his Dragonborn Paladin from 4th edition. They choose to ignore this for some reason. They havent outlawed my character or anything but I can sense that they are a little unerved by his presence. It's not like I'm killing things in one hit either. I do average damage and have average health. I even scale back my powers to please th