Personal tips for a newbie starting out today?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone. Sorry if this is in the wrong area. This is my first time posting here on the forums. I've done a lot of reading around and still have some questions I hope can be answered.  

I've been interested for a long time about playing D&D but never have gotten around to buying a set to play with. I have only the most basic understanding of the rules that came from playing games like Neverwinter Nights and Baldur's Gate. Other than that, I don't really have the best idea of how to play. I assume 4e is the best edition to start out with?

Before I go any further, I should say that I plan on starting this out on my own. No DM, just me by myself. I realize this will just be a series of RPless random dungeon crawling, but I'm okay with that. I'd like to get to know as much as I can by myself before I start playing with others. This will also give me a chance to practice DMing. I know the better alternative would be to play computer RPGs, but it's just more appealing to me to roll actual dice instead of having a computer automatically roll for me. With that being said, I have a few questions:

- Will running dungeons by myself be viable if I play more than one character? I would have a main character, but if the dungeons hit too hard I would have to play other characters to support my main. Is this something that can be done easily?

- What do you suggest I buy today? I heard the Red Box is a great place to start, so I will probably buy that, but is there anything else you think is mandatory or anything that will help me learn the rules easier?

- Are there a lot of people who play DMless and by themselves, and are there campaigns tailored to this? I've heard Ravenloft supports single player, are there others like this?