How do magic items work exactly?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am referring to how:

Let's say I have a heroic Iron Armbands of power. How do I upgrade it to paragon when I am at the level? Do I have to find a whole new one?

How do enhancements work? Kind of the same thing, if I have a +1 weapon, can I upgrade it to +2 somehow or do I have to find a whole new one?

The reason I ask is that my DM is EXTREMELY stingy when it comes to magic items. He let's us choose which we want, but we have only gotten a +1 weapon for levels 1-7.
Generally, yes, you find new equipment to find the older outdated versions of your equipment as you rise in levels. You can also use the Enchant Item ritual to raise an item to a higher version, but this isn't particularly cost effective and is only really efficacious if you have a feat that allows you to create items above your level.
Well, that sucks. I feel like I am going to be item starved forever if I have to keep replacing my armbands of power/siberys shard/frost sword/gloves of ice/armor.
I'm gonna tell you something... this game doesn't revolve around the DM giving out magic stuff like candy (since this is the internet; I'm not saying this in a rude tone like it could be mistaken for). In fact I'm in a campaign where I just hit level 4 and I just found my first magical item... Its a potion... The game doesn't require the DM to throw things at you like that constantly. But back to your question yes there are rituals in which you could disenchant the item and use the residuum to enchant the magic items further.

Edit: Noticed a stupid typo. 

Come to 4ENCLAVE for a fan based 4th Edition Community.

Well, that sucks. I feel like I am going to be item starved forever if I have to keep replacing my armbands of power/siberys shard/frost sword/gloves of ice/armor.

and you get that from an "EXTREMELY stingy" DM ?

and you get that from an "EXTREMELY stingy" DM ?