Arcana

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello!

Me and my friends have started playing D&D 4e recently, and we are still total newbs, still struggling with all the rules and so on. After our last session I gained some items, specifically Dwarven chainmail +1. My character is a dwarf warlock and as far as I know I can't wear chainmail armor. Ok, so if I took a feat, (armor proficiency:chainmail), I could wear it. The question is, does it affect my arcane spells, is there some kind of penalty to attack rolls or something? I haven't played previous editions of D&D, but I have played Pc games like Icewind dale 2 and Neverwinter Nights, and I remember that in those there was something like 15% spell failure to arcana if you were wearing heavier armor than cloth.
The question is, does it affect my arcane spells, is there some kind of penalty to attack rolls or something?

Nope.

Do not try to bring in any outside games or rules to 4e.  Unless you can find it in 4e, it doesn't exist.
D&D Next = D&D: Quantum Edition
No, there is no penalty related to casting spells for wearing any specific type of armor, unless you are not proficient in the armor, but that's a general penalty to applies to everyone, not just spellcasters.  Forget what you learned from prior editions.

The way armor proficiency works is that anyone can wear any type of armor whether you are proficient or not, and you gain the benefits of wearing that armor including armor and enhancement bonuses to AC and any other powers or properties of that armor.  However, if you are not proficient in that armor, you will suffer a -2 penalty to attack rolls and a -2 to your REF defense.  If you are proficient, those penalities go away. 

Shields, on the other hand, can also be wielded by anyone whether they are proficient of not, but if you are not proficient you don't gain the Shield bonus to AC and REF.  You can, however, use any powers or other benefits that the shield might grant.