Is DDI essential?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi, I've posted a number of other threads on what to buy and where to go to after your done with the red box and most people are telling me to continue on with the essentials line, which is good as it has clarified and answered a lot of my questions. But Im also getting a lot of recommendations to subscribe to Dungeons and Dragons Insider, which is a problem. I am a student and dont have any steady income and so cannot really afford to subscribe to DDI at the moment, so what Im wondewring is; Is DDI required to get the most out of, or even just play the esssentials line (or the game in general) or is it just an added bonus which enriches the game? Kepping in mind that me and my friends are all newbs and many elements that seasoned players may find necessary in DDI may not matter to us. Any advice is helpful.
No, it's not essential; you can have a perfectly enjoyable game with just the Essentials books.  The subscription gets you all the mechanical options ever published, but that may not be worth the cost, especially if you're just beginning and might be overwhelmed rather than excited about all the extra options.  Consider the DDI subscription for later down the line after you've exhausted the Essentials adventures from the DM's Kit and Monster Vault; that should take you a few months, at least.
It's not essential for 4e period. If you are sticking with essentials, it's even easier to go without it. In fact, I would even go so far as to not recommend it given the relatively fewer options for essentials.
Owner and Proprietor of the House of Trolls. God of ownership and possession.
Thanks for the info, Im finding everyone really helpful here. Smile