Versatile Expertise + Ki Focus with Heavy Blades

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ki focuses confuse me Yell I'm trying to figure this one particular thing out. Let's say I was multiclassing assassin, and was able to weild ki focus and obtained the feat 'Versatile Expertise' in my heroic teir. If I chose Heavy Blades and Ki Focus, and was using ki focus on that heavy blade, would I get the +1 bonus for the attack roll AND the +1 for using the implement, totalling it +2 bonus to attack rolls? Or would it be simply +1? If it's just +1, please explain why (I'm new to D&D Foot in Mouth) so I won't make a similar mistake in the future! And just to be sure: Since a Ki Focus can basically be anything, can it be simply my weapon: the longsword?

Also an unrelated (and probably silly) question: Can you draw your weapon BEFORE an encounter, so you don't have to waste a minor drawing it during one?

P.S. Sorry if this question has been asked/answered a bunch before; I couldn't find a similar question when I was looking for an answer
If a bonus has a type (such as a power or a feat bonus), the bonus is not cumulative with bonuses of the same type; only the highest bonus applies.  If you look at Versatile Expertise, you'll notice it provides a "feat bonus" to attack.  A feat bonus +1 doesn't stack with another feat bonus +1, so you just net out a +1 total.

There are also bonuses that have no type called untyped bonuses. These bonuses are cumulative, but untyped bonuses from the same named game element (such as a power or a feat) are not cumulative; only the highest applies.

It's also important to note that just because you get a bonus from a feat, it is not automatically a feat bonus, or a power bonus if it was from a power.  The rules are very consistent about always specifying the flavor of bonus when it gives one out.