Where to go from the Red box?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey, me and my friends are new to the whole roleplaying scene and upon doing some research I found out that the best game to start with is probably Dungeons and Dragons. So I decided to buy the new Red Box online and have (attempted) to play a couple of times with my friends and we are all enjoying it, but Im starting to wonder what we should be buying next. I have seen that there a couple of different variants of Dungeons and Dragons and am wondering what we as complete newbs should be looking for. I cant tell if we should invest in the original 4th edition books, the essentials line or even go for the newly reprinted AD&D books. Any advice would be greatly appreciated and as a side note, Im also unsure of what exactly me and my friends should buy, what books are neccesary to get and, as money is a problem, what books are needed just to play the game?
I strongly suggest you purchase the Dungeon Master's Kit. It includes a great adventure for 2nd level characters, tokens and an updated rule book.
I almost always tell folks that if they started with the Red Box they should just continue on with the Essentials line of products and only go for the original hardcover books once they feel they want more stuff of they're getting tired of the somewhat limited options that the Essentials line presents.   IOW, keep it simple until you want something more than simple.

The newly reprinted AD&D books are in no way compatible with any 4th Edition/Essentials products.  They are a completely seperate and different game.

If you're DMing you should have the Rules Compendium, DM's Kit, the Heroes Of ... books and one or more Monster Vault products.  The other players should have one or more Heroes Of ... books and a Rules Compendium.  That's my story and I'm sticking to it.