Helping create a ranger (THW or archer)

31 posts / 0 new
Last post
Geez, the browser crashed right before I posted, so here we go again...

I' making a new thread, because I can't change the title of the old one and it will get confusing.

The group will look like this:

Defender:
Minotaur Greatweapon Fighter
Warforged Swordmage|Artificer

Striker:
Goliath Barbarian
me

Controller:
Shardmind Psion
??? Mage

Leader:
??? Taclord

So I would say that a melee Ranger is better suited than a ranged one. Also I dislike elves very much (which are the recommended ranged race). My other thought would be the Mia Avenger build, but because I'm fairly new to D&D as a player (just played once and normally leading as DM for my friends) I think I should make my first experience with an old not so much optimized build.
Because of that also hybrid isn't a option here.

I would like to go the heavy blade firewind blade route. And don't use frost if you don't recommend me otherwise. Do I have to MC Cleric and use Morninglord PP to make that work? 15 Wis is kinda high.
Kensei or Shock Trooper is the other idea.

Here's the first try. Could retrain Weapon Focus to Silvery Glow later on.

Extra Manifestation is for fluff, but if I don't have the space for the feat I could remove it. Otherwise I would like to use Double Manifestation later on. Also I get two feats for free. (Weapon Expertise and Improved Defenses)

====== Created Using Wizards of the Coast D&D Character Builder ======
Athz-rael - Copy, level 11
Genasi, Ranger, Stormwarden
Build: Two-Blade Ranger
Fighting Style Option: Two-Blade Fighting Style
Ranger Option: Prime Shot
Elemental Manifestation Option: Stormsoul
Extra Manifestation Option: Firesoul
Firepulse Option: Firepulse Strength
Auspicious Birth (Auspicious Birth Benefit)
Theme: Sohei

FINAL ABILITY SCORES
STR 22, CON 11, DEX 16, INT 11, WIS 16, CHA 11

STARTING ABILITY SCORES
STR 17, CON 10, DEX 14, INT 8, WIS 14, CHA 10

AC: 18 Fort: 24 Ref: 21 Will: 20