New Race Idea: Wolfen

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I got to sitting around with a DM, talking about letting me play a Lycanthrope in their campaign. I'm new to D&D, and really wanted a Werewolf that stayed in hybrid form, and was able to use beast form attacks. But to get that, I had to make a Druid, and she said that I would be better off playing a Shifter if I wanted to play a "wolf-girl."

In the end, I felt kind of upset. D&D has Gnolls... Minotaurs... and Shifters (ew...), so I decided, "Hey! You wanna play a werewolf in hybrid form all the time... How about something simpler?" It was at this point I decided to look up some images, and... oddly enough, I found the Lupin. I was not pleased at Wizards of the Coast's attempt to make a wolf-like race, and that further fueled me to make a race all my own.

After a few hours of talking to friends in a chat-room (thank you for supporting me, you know who you are!) , I came up with the Wolfen.

So, you ask... What are Wolfen?  I'll answer all that here.

Wolfen in 4th Edition:

WOLFEN

Wolfen are lean, feral humanoids. Armed with claws and sharp teeth, these powerful creatures travel in packs.

Average Height: 6´ 4˝– 6´ 8˝

Average Weight: 157-207 lb.

Ability Scores: +2 Charisma; +2 Strength or +2 Dexterity

Size: Medium

Speed: 7 squares

Vision: Darkvision

Languages: Common, choice of one other

Skill Bonuses: +2 Athletics, +2 Perception

Group Awareness: You grant non-wolfen allies within 5 squares of you a +1 racial bonus to Perception checks.

Ferocious Bite: When you make a weapon attack, you can use your bite, which is a weapon in the heavy blade weapon group. This weapon has the off-hand weapon property and a +3 proficiency bonus, and it deals 1d8 damage. Your bite has the enhancement bonus of your primary weapon.

Wolf Howl: You have the Wolf Howl power.

Wolf Howl Wolfen Racial Power
Howl at the heavens, asking for Melora's blessing to strike your enemies down.

Encounter
Minor Action — Personal
Effect: