Looking for Warstories

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello community!

My name is Ed, and I am a grad school student at Johns Hopkins University in Washington, D.C. I am in JHU's MA Writing program, and for my thesis, I decided I was going to immerse myself deep into the D&D community for the next year and write all the stories, thoughts, and games I have.

I've been playing D&D in some form or another since I was six years old. My interest has always been a little more on the general RPG side than specifically D&D, but I always end up coming back to D&D. I choose D&D as the subject of my thesis because, as we all know, D&D is the ambassador to role-playing games for the world as a whole. Everyone's heard of D&D...but surprisingly few people actually know what it is. I'm hoping my thesis will illuminate and educa....oh, screw it; I'M PLAYING DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS FOR A GRADE!!! HOW FRICKIN' COOL IS THAT???

Anyways, if anyone has any great stories or thoughts about the game they'd like to share with me, or suggestions on how I can get the best D&D experience, post here and let me know! 
if anyone has any great stories or thoughts about the game they'd like to share with me, or suggestions on how I can get the best D&D experience, post here and let me know! 

The boards are chock full of stories and advice, but here a few of my own anecdotes:

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies
DM: I want to start a new campaign.
Players: But you promised that you'd continue with this one until the end.
DM: Fine. A giant, 20-mile wide, flaming meteor hurtles towards the party. What do you do?
Player 1: I teleport us.
DM: No good. It still follows you.
Player 2: I planeshift us
DM: No good. this is a *multidimensional*, 20-mile wide, flaming meteor. It’s in every plane you shift to.
Me: I raise my shield
DM: ?!
Me: It's the special shield you gave me two adventures ago. You said it could absorb *any* missile, regardless of size.
DM: Ah. Yes. How many charges does that thing have left?