Healing

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to 4e (never played 3.5 either) and am having trouble with the healing rules.  Can someone explain them to me?

I see that you get a number of healing surges, but I think I read that you can only use one per fight?  Are the rest used in between fights? 
there is no limit to the number of healing surges you can spend per fight.  You can spend up to the maximum number of healing surges you have or that you currently have.  If you use a power to spend a healing surge and have none to spend, you instead gain 1 hit point.

You have a power called Second Wind which you can only use once per encounter, maybe that's what you were thinking of ?  It allows you to spend a healing surge and gain a bonus to all defenses.  Everyone has this power.  The only other way to spend a healing surge is to use a power to do so, you can't just use one.  You have to use a power or utility to spend them.  An example of a power that let's you spend a healing surge other than Second Wind is the power Healing Word from the Cleric.  The target gets to spend a healing surge and gains additional hit points as a bonus.

You can use healing surges between encounters as well without limit.  Of course if you're full hp, there's not much point to spending a healing surge.

If you are new to 4E, I strongly recommend you read the player's handbook as that will answer all the basic questions you might have.  It's a very important resource that you should use.
"Non nobis Domine Sed nomini tuo da gloriam" "I wish for death not because I want to die, but because I seek the war eternal"

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/19.jpg)

You're right that the ability to just a spend a healing surge for your "second wind" can only be used once per encounter.

However there are other abilities that allow you or your allies to regain hits, this almost always relies upon allowing you to spend a healing surge.