Brilliant post on true freedom in a D&D "sandbox"

189 posts / 0 new
Last post
This is a great post put up by Alexis over on Tao of D&D.

The gist of it is that it is a little blurb for a DM to give to players to prepare them for truly open world gaming where they are able to play as they wish. It does a great job capturing the spirit of what I allow my players to do and how I run my games. Hopefully it inspires some folks or just clarifies some things for them!

As always, PG-13 or so language so...uh...look out if you're sensitive I guess!

The Opening Module

I'm on a journey of enlightenment, learning and self-improvement. A journey towards mastery. A journey that will never end. If you challenge me, prepare to be challenged. If you have something to offer as a fellow student, I will accept it. If you call yourself a master, prepare to be humbled. If you seek me, look to the path. I will be traveling it.

Proudly playing in many wrong ways. I'm not afraid of playing wrong according to the rules. Why are you?

100 Crack Reply of the Yagamifire. You are already wrong.

While I will admit that the statements made are excellent (and they do give me ideas), there is still the possibility that the group will come out of their discussion and say, "Um, we don't know."

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/19.jpg)

Are you really "entitled to your opinion"?
RedSiegfried wrote:
The cool thing is, you don't even NEED a reason to say yes.  Just stop looking for a reason to say no.
While I will admit that the statements made are excellent (and they do give me ideas), there is still the possibility that the group will come out of their discussion and say, "Um, we don't know."