Confusing Wizards!

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi,
I am new to D&D and currently running a campaign for a group of friends. One of my players is a Wizard and we are all totaly confused about her spells and abilities.

From what I hav found around the internet and in this forum she has the same amount of powers per day as other classes.
2 at-will
1 encounter
1 daily
0 untility

I need some help to understand what she can actually do. I have summarized here spells and features below and my understanding of them. If anyone could let me know if I am reading this correctly?

Level: 2

Class/Other Features: 

Arcanist's Spellbooks:

Three 1st-level rituals, plus more at higer levels. Also, twice the daily and utility spells you can use; choose from among these at each extended rest.

Cantrips:

Gain  four cantrips

Feats: 

Expanded Spellbook:

Add additional daily spell to spellbook

Powers:

Attack:
Magic Missile (at-will)
Scorching burst (at-will)

Burning Hands (encounter)

Acid Arrow(daily)
Flaming Sphere (daily)
Sleep (daily) 

Utility:
Shield (encounter)
Protection from Missiles (daily)

Cantrip:
Chameleon's Mask (encounter)
Suggestion (encounter)
Light (at-will)
Water Stride (encounter)

I interpret the rulse as follows:  From the spells listed in attack and utility she can only have two at-will, one encounter, one daily, and one utility prapeard for each day. While the Cantrips are something she can cast as often as the spell permits. 

Extrapolating on this, I assume the following applies for all classes:
- In the "basic spell/power pool" one always has the limits described in the PHB page 29 table. This includs any powers you select when leveling.
- Powers/spells gained from a class or ratial feature can be used in addtion to the "basic pool".