Skill Challenges

28 posts / 0 new
Last post
There are threads for cities, npc's, adventures, quests, rules.. just about everything, but I haven't seen anything for skill challenges.  I'm new to 4e (only played original and 2e) and the suggestions in the DMG are great but I'd like to see what some of the other DMs like.

Also, since I've never ran one.  Do you guys have any tips on running a skill challenge to make it fun?

There are threads for cities, npc's, adventures, quests, rules.. just about everything, but I haven't seen anything for skill challenges.  I'm new to 4e (only played original and 2e) and the suggestions in the DMG are great but I'd like to see what some of the other DMs like.

We usually see one every week or so.

Also, since I've never ran one.  Do you guys have any tips on running a skill challenge to make it fun?

I love skill challenges.

You can ignore all other advice if you make your skill challenges interesting to run, interesting to win, and interesting to lose. The tips below go into this more, but take the previous sentence as your guiding light, particularly the last part.

Don't run them just to run them. Some situations are really only worth a single roll, some are worth none. I think of them as a scene unto themselves, like an action setpiece in a movie, or the overarching question in an episode of a show.

Don't run them unless there's some kind of additional pressure. In fact, don't call for skill checks at all unless there's some reason the PC can't just stand there and take their time until they get it right. I usually combine skill challenges with combat, traps or each other. The characters then have to make actual choices, instead of just putting their best person on the task and aiding them.