Have idea, need plan

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
So it's my turn next to DM. I've always wanted to play Mouseguard because I like the idea of the different point of view (and the fact that the rat quest would actually be hard!). No one else really wants to play, so I thought of a way to compromise; have a wizard mshrink the party, and they have to fiure out how to reverse the spell. 

I'm just not sure how to start it.  

Any ideas? I'm fairly new to the DM sceen, I've done a couple pre-mades, but nothing serious. 
Start first by asking your players if they're into the idea. It sounds like the goal would be to get changed back to normal, whatever that means in context. You'd build your scenario around that and have the location be the wizard's hut, tower, or whatever. The villainous wizard, full of hubris that the PCs are surely done for and can't possibly change back and give him his just desserts, goes about his business in that location. Other threats and challenges will suggest themself naturally.

If you have their buy-in, commence with action. Perhaps they are being chased by the wizard's hermaphroditic house cat Mister Fifi. 
If they weren't chomping at the bit when you first propsed the idea, I would certainly double check on this compromise plan before railroading them into a variation of something they didn't really want to do in the first place.
If they weren't chomping at the bit when you first propsed the idea, I would certainly double check on this compromise plan before railroading them into a variation of something they didn't really want to do in the first place.

Hear, hear.

If I have to ask the GM for it, then I don't want it.

They did like the idea of the mouseguard campaign, they just don't want to learn a game system. They think it sounds fun but we are all really busy with work and school (I'm getting my masters and the other girl is getting her PhD, boys work full time) and just want to play, not learn, lol.